Schulz enters CHSCA Hall of Fame; FCIAC players, teams and coaches honored

Many current and former FCIAC players were recently honored by the Connecticut High School Coaches Association as the state’s Player of the Year in their respective sports for the 2014-15 school season, and the CHSCA also inducted current Fairfield Ludlowe athletic director Dave Schulz into it’s Hall of Fame.

Schulz was one of 10 inductees into the CHSCA Hall of Fame at its awards dinner in late November. He has spent all 38 years of his career in the Fairfield school system. Schulz had much success during his 18 years as head boys basketball coach at Fairfield High School and was the FCIAC Coach of the Year recipient six times.

Schulz was the Connecticut Post Regional Coach of the Year three times and he was the CHSCA Coach of the Year in 2005. He was also recognized by the CHSCA as Coach of the Year in Unified Sports in 2014 and was inducted into the FCIAC Hall of Fame in 2010. Schulz has also coached football, track, golf and softball.

The CHSCA named the St. Joseph girls’ soccer team and Darien boys’ lacrosse teams as the No. 1 teams in the state for the 2014-15 school year and it also recognized the Danbury boys’ cross country team, Greenwich boys’ swimming and diving team, Darien girls’ swimming and diving team, and Darien girls’ lacrosse teams as top teams.

The 2014-15 players of the year from the FCIAC selected by the CHSCA included: Zach Allen, New Canaan football; Isabelle Taylor, Darien girls’ volleyball; Hannah DeBalsi, Staples girls’ cross country; Marcella Maguire, Ridgefield girls’ swimming and diving; Thomas Dillinger, Greenwich boys’ swimming and diving; Charlie Kane, Warde wrestling; Kateri Martin, Darien girls’ tennis; Todd Herget, Darien boys’ volleyball; Mark Evanchick, Darien boys’ lacrosse; Alex Ostberg, Darien boys’ cross country; Jenna Bike, St. Joseph girls’ soccer; Will Massie, Darien boys’ ice hockey; Nina Martucci, Ludlowe cheerleading; Erika Osherow, Darien softball; and Catherine McEvoy, Greenwich girls’ golf.

The FCIAC’s coaches of the year for the preceding 2015 fall season included: Tim Foster, Warde boys’ cross country; John Goetz, Ridgefield girls’ cross country; Jon Bradley, Darien boys’ soccer; Danny Simpson, Greenwich girls’ soccer; Cindi Gallucci, Trumbull field hockey; Pete Georgiou, Brien McMahon girls’ volleyball; David Fine, New Canaan girls swimming and diving; and Donny Panapada, Trinity Catholic football.