Walter Camp announces Connecticut All-Star football team

The Walter Camp Foundation has announced its Connecticut All-Star football team and several FCIAC standouts are among the honorees.

New Canaan’s Zach Allen, a defensive end, is on the defensive team and is also one of three finalists for the Player of the Year.

Also making the defensive team are Darien DE Mark Evanchick and St. Joseph DB Lars Pedersen.

Named to the offensive team are St. Joseph RB Musfasha Abdul-Basir, New Canaan WR Alex LaPolice, and Darien OL Jack Griffiths.

All the players will be honored as part of the Walter Camp Football Foundation’s High School “Breakfast of Champions” at 9 a.m., Saturday, January 17 at Anthony’s Ocean View in New Haven.

The Southington Blue Knights, the No. 1 team in the state’s high school football season-ending polls, will be recognized along with the seven other state champions: Xavier (Class LL small), New Canaan (Class L large), Windsor (Class L small), Brookfield (Class M large), St. Joseph (Class M small), Valley Regional/Old Lyme (Class S large) and Capital Prep/Achievement (Class S small).

Here is the 2014 Walter Camp All-Connecticut Team, presented by Achieve Athletics. FCIAC Players are in bold.


QB: Mark Piccirillo (Shelton), Jasen Rose (Southington)

RB: Mufasha Adbdul-Basir (St. Joseph), JoJo Schumaker (Ledyard)

WR: Alex Jamele (Southington), Alex LaPolice (New Canaan)

TE: Julian Dunn (Newtown)

OL: Jack Griffiths (Darien), Noah MacDonald (Southington), Anthony Palazzolo (Fairfield Prep), Ryan Rogers (Avon)

C: Tanner Kern (Xavier)


LB: Tim Krapf (Newtown), Ben Mason (Newtown), Owen Taylor (Northwest Catholic)

DB: Dario Highsmith (Middletown), Matt Maxwell (Southington), Jarvis Miller (Windsor Locks/Suffield/East Granby), Lars Pedersen (St. Joseph)

DL: Zach Allen (New Canaan), Kevaughn Bennett (Windsor), Mark Evanchick (Darien), Sidney Jones (Capital Prep/Achievement)

Special Teams

PK: Andrew Verre (Xavier)

P: Christopher Jean-Pierre (Valley Regional/Old Lyme)

KR: Enyce Walker (East Hartford)

Player of the Year finalists: TE/DE Zach Allen (New Canaan), QB Mark Piccirillo (Shelton) and QB Jasen Rose (Southington)

The state Coach of the Year award will be presented by Stadium System. The three finalists are Mike Drury (Southington), Tim King (Valley Regional/Old Lyme) and Jeff Roy (Shelton).

The Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by NFP Sports, will be presented to current New Britain athletic director Len Corto. Corto, who coached football at South Catholic (1974-87) and New Britain (1988-2000), had a career record of 144-122-7.

Coach Drury and the Southington team will be recognized with the “Kelly Award” later that evening at the organization’s national awards banquet, presented by First Niagara Bank, at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

The members of the 2014 Walter Camp All-America team and Player of the Year Marcus Mariota (Oregon), will be honored at the national awards banquet.

In addition, the Foundation will recognize broadcasting legend Verne Lundquist (Distinguished American), former Notre Dame and Pittsburgh Steeler standout running back Jerome Bettis (Man of the Year) and former Air Force All-American and Dallas Cowboy Chad Hennings (Alumnus of the Year) with major awards.

New Canaan DE Zach Allen, one of six FCIAC players named to the Walter Camp Connecticut All-Star football team, is also a finalist for the foundation’s Player of the Year. (Dave Stewart/Hersam Acorn Newspapers Photo)