Ridgefield, Staples’ Olasewere sisters star at FCIAC swim championships

GREENWICH – Lily Archibald won the 100-yard butterfly race, Bridget Kelly placed second and third in the two longest freestyle races, and they were both members of winning and runner-up relay teams to lead Ridgefield to the team title at the 2022 FCIAC Girls Swimming and Diving Championships on Nov. 4 at Greenwich High School.

Archibald and Kelly are both sophomores and were among many underclassmen conference swimmers who had multiple strong performances.

Annam and Ayaan Olasewere, those superb sophomore twin sisters for Staples, each had a victory and runner-up finish in individual events, and they were teammates on a victorious and a runner-up relay team.

Ridgefield compiled 375 points to win the school’s second FCIAC championship six years after the first one in 2016.

Darien placed second with 335 points. Defending champion Greenwich was third with 264 points, the Olasewere twins led Staples (240) to fourth place, and Wilton 196) completed the top five.

Archibald won the 100 butterfly with time of 55.17. Kelly placed second in the 500 freestyle (5:07.65) after she had finished third in the 200 free (1:52.97).

Archibald, Kelly, freshman Ava Ward, and sophomore Keira Giles were members of the record-setting 400 freestyle relay team in the meet’s final event. They won that with a 3:28.79 to break the old record of 3:30.66 set in 2017 by Staples.

Giles previously placed third in the 100 free (53.1). Riley McGerald, another Ridgefield sophomore, was third in the 100 breaststroke (1:06.94) and fourth in the 200 IM (2:08.64).

The Tigers got off to a fine start in the first race of the team when Archibald, McGerald, Elissa Egerton, and Giles teamed up for a runner-up finish in the 200-yard medley relay (1:47.65) behind Darien (1:47.21).

McGerald, sophomore Madeline Muncy, Kelly and Ward later teamed up to place second in the 200 free relay (1:37.71).

The Staples quartet of the Olasewere twins, Carly Waldman, and Libby Turner won that 200 free relay race with a 1:36.86.

Annam Olasewere won the 100 free in 50.12 and in doing so she broke her own previous record by 0.06 of second, which she set last year. She achieved that after she had already placed second in the 200 free (1:49.93). Ayaan Olasewere won the 50 free (24.11) and later placed second in the 100 free (52.64) behind her sister.

The Olasewere sisters teamed up with Danielle Schwartz and Libby Turner to placed second behind Ridgefield in the 400 free relay (3:34.3). Turner was earlier runner-up in the 100 backstroke (59.69).

Miller Ward had a great meet to lead Darien to second place. Ward, a junior, won the 200 individual medley (2:06.1) and placed second in the 100 butterfly (55.54) after she swam a strong second leg on the winning 200 medley relay team (1:47.21).

Miller was joined on that winning relay team by Margaret Erickson, Emily Kalvaitis and Natalia Ferranto, who later was runner-up in the 50 free (24.14). Erickson was also third in the 500 free (5:09.56).

Fairfield Ludlowe freshman Ella Gussen won the 100 backstroke in 59.58 and was runner-up in the 200 individual medley 2:07.47. Ludlowe junior Kathleen Murray won the 200-yard freestyle with a 1:42.82 and placed third in the 100 butterfly (55.6).

Wilton senior Virginia Hastings won the 500 free (5:04.45) and placed third in the 200 individual medley (2:08.07).

Sydney Jee won the 100 breaststroke in 1:05.91 while helping lead Greenwich to third place.

The diving portion of the championship meet took place Nov. 1 at Westhill High School’s pool. Westhill senior Hannah Chuckas, who is the defending state Class LL and State Open champion, won this year’s FCIAC diving title with 440.75 points. Natalie Penman (439.2) and Kaitlyn Maggio (418) of New Canaan placed second and third, respectively.

Also for New Canaan, Abigayle Bleil was runner-up in the 100 breaststroke (1:06.06) and Samantha Haley took third in the 100 backstroke (1:00.46).

Westhill’s Annie Edwards placed third in the 50 free (24.64).

Leave a Comment