Girls Hockey: Young stars help New Canaan gain No. 1 seed for FCIAC and state playoffs

The New Canaan Rams already had a great girls ice hockey program when a flood of talented young players began reaching the high school last year. They’ve helped take the Rams to an elite level. New Canaan heads into the postseason with many impressive numbers. The Rams are 17-1-2 and have earned the No. 1 … Read more

Unbeaten Norwalk remains atop GameTimeCT Top 10 Girls Basketball Poll

The girls basketball league tournaments are nearing their conclusions. With snow on the way Wednesday night, many of them were getting pushed to later in the week. But the state tournament pairings have been released, and the latest top 10 poll will not be delayed. Click here for more

FCIAC girls ice hockey semifinals postponed to Thursday (updated with times)

Due to today’s weather forecast, the FCIAC girls ice hockey semifinals have been postponed to Thursday, Feb. 21. The game will be held at the Darien Ice House, with No. 1 New Canaan vs. No. 4 Fairfield at 4 p.m., and No. 2 Darien vs. No. 3 Greenwich at 8 p.m. The two semifinal games … Read more

Norwalk needs rally to top Danbury, reach FCIAC girls basketball final vs. Trinity Catholic

TRUMBULL — The first quarter of the FCIAC semifinals was arguably as bad as the Norwalk girls basketball team has played all season. The team missed layups, turned the ball over and got beat inside by Danbury. Despite the subpar effort from the No. 1 team in the state, the Bears led Danbury by one … Read more

Danbury wins Class LL wrestling title for 19th time in 23 years; Trumbull claims 2nd

TRUMBULL — For the 19th time in the past 23 years, Danbury has been crowned the kings of Class LL wrestling. Danbury, the state’s top-ranked team, survived a strong challenge from the Trumbull Eagles and claimed the state title during the tournament this weekend at Trumbull High School. The Hatters had nine wrestlers reach the … Read more

FCIAC postseason games to be streamed by FairfieldLive

The FCIAC basketball and ice hockey tournaments are being held over the next two weeks and FairfieldLive will be live streaming many of the playoff games. To visit the FairfieldLive website, click here FairfieldLive Schedule Girls Basketball Semifinals – Tues., Feb. 19, 6 and 7:45 p.m. Girls Basketball Final – Thurs., Feb. 21, 7 p.m. … Read more

The FCIAC girls basketball quarterfinals by the numbers

Eight teams will tip off the FCIAC Girls Basketball Tournament on Saturday when the quarterfinal games are played at Fairfield-Ludlowe High School. The Norwalk Bears, the top-ranked team in the GameTimeCT Top 10 poll, lead the way at No. 1. Defending champion Trumbull is No. 2, followed No. 3 Trinity Catholic, No. 4 Danbury, No. … Read more

Swimming Notebook: Ridgefield digs deep to beat Greenwich, secures unbeaten regular season

Ridgefield put the finishing touch on an undefeated regular season with its Senior Night win over Danbury on Wednesday, but its signature victory came one week earlier against a team that’s ruled the roost for quite a while — six-time defending State Open, Class LL and FCIAC swimming champion Greenwich. The Tigers’ 115-71 triumph over … Read more

Field set for FCIAC Girls Basketball Tournament

The match-ups are set for the 2019 FCIAC girls basketball tournament, which will get underway with four quarterfinal games at Fairfield-Ludlowe High School on Saturday, Feb. 16. The eight tournament teams had been determined prior to the start of action on Wednesday, but seedings were still up in the air. The Norwalk Bears (20-0) head … Read more

2018-19 All-FCIAC Gymnastics Awards

All-FCIAC First Team Kelsey Fedorko – Greenwich Gianna Cardini – Greenwich Ellie Marino – Greenwich Merritt Stevenson – Trumbull Caroline Garrett – Warde Tess Vincent – Warde Ava Mancini – Ludlowe Evelyn Hogarth – Ludlowe Jessica Olin – Wilton Lily Byrnes – Wilton Carter Siegel – Wilton Lana Schmidt – Darien Kaitlyn Moussignac – New … Read more