Champs times 7: Darien defends FCIAC girls lacrosse crown, 11-10, over Wilton

It certainly sounds familiar — the Darien Blue Wave girls lacrosse team is the champion of the FCIAC. But make no mistake: The Wave had to earn every bit of its latest title against a tough Wilton Warriors squad.

Trailing 9-8 with 14:30 remaining, the Wave went on a three-goal run to take the lead for good, as they defeated Wilton, 11-10, in the FCIAC final Thursday night at Brien McMahon High School.

Shea van den Broek scored the equalizer, Nicole Humphrey put Darien ahead, and Katie Ramsay gave the Wave a two-goal cushion en route to the victory.

Darien’s numbers are incredible, as it has now won seven consecutive conference championships and has a 105-game winning streak against Connecticut opponents.

The Wave’s Humphrey sisters racked up five goals and four assists: Ashley had a hat trick with two helpers, and Nicole had two goals and two assists. Christine Fiore added two goals, and Emma Jaques, Maddie Joyce, Van den Broek and Ramsay had one each.

The MVP honors went to goalie Maggie Brooks, who collected eight saves against a potent Wilton attack.

The Warriors received four goals from Eva Greco and three from Paisley Eagan.

Being part of such a close game made the win even more special for Darien.

“It was awesome,” Nicole Humphrey told the HAN Network. “Close games like that are what we live for. As part of the Darien program, just pulling through in the last minutes is so fun to be out there with my best friends. We had a great time.”

For more on the story from the Darien Times, click here

FCIAC Girls Lacrosse Final — Darien 11, Wilton 10

Thurs., May 24, at Brien McMahon HS

Wilton 7-3 10

Darien 7-4 11

Wilton: Eva Greco 4g; Paisley Eagan 3g, 1a; Julia Bonnist 1g; Sophia Sudano 1g; Taylor LaMantia 1g

Darien: Ashley Humphrey 3g, 2a; Nicole Humphrey 2g, 2a; Christine Fiore 2g; Emma Jaques 1g; Maddie Joyce 1g; Shea van den Broek 1g; Katie Ramsay 1g


W – Zoe Lash 5 saves

D – Maggie Brooks 8 saves (MVP)

The Darien girls lacrosse team celebrates after winning its seventh consecutive FCIAC championship on Thursday night. — Darien Athletic Foundation photo

Leave a Comment