2019 FCIAC Hall of Fame Inductees

The FCIAC Hall of Fame Class of 2019 will include six inductees, who will be honored during the conference’s annual banquet on Thursday night, June 13, at the Norwalk Inn. In addition to the induction ceremony, the evening will feature several award-winners, and the league’s coaches of the year for each sport will be recognized. … Read more

No. 1 Darien blitzes Wilton in first half to reclaim Class L boys lacrosse championship

NORWALK — The more the Wilton Warriors wanted to prove their biggest win wasn’t a fluke, the more the team they’d beaten noticed. A motivated Darien boys lacrosse team is a frightening thing. The Blue Wave proved it from the start Saturday at Jack Casagrande Field, beating Wilton 13-3 in the Class L final to … Read more

Darien overwhelms rival New Canaan to recapture Class L girls lacrosse crown

MILFORD — Throughout the girls lacrosse season, the Darien Blue Wave have used the word “redemption” as a rallying cry. That may seem to be an unusual word for a program which has won eight straight FCIAC titles and five of the last six state crowns, but Darien certainly sets a high bar for success. … Read more

Strong second half propels St. Joseph boys lacrosse past Bacon Academy, to repeat as Class S champs

NORWALK — St. Joseph goalie Kyle Burbank hit the nail on the head when he described the Cadets’ 9-3 victory over No. 3 seed Bacon Academy at Brien McMahon’s Jack Casagrande Field in Norwalk on Saturday. “I’ll take my 6 on 6 guys (backliners) against anyone in the state,” said Burbank, after coach Brendan Talbot’s … Read more

Owens, East Lyme topples St. Joseph to claim Class M girls lacrosse crown, first title since 2006

MILFORD—The prize waiting for the St. Joseph High School girls lacrosse team on Saturday at Jonathan Law High School was the program’s first-ever state championship. While opportunity was present, the result proved too elusive as No. 3 seed East Lyme High School defeated No. 13 St. Joseph, 10-6 in the 2019 Class M championship final. … Read more

Eight FCIAC teams contend for state championships on Saturday

Eight FCIAC teams will be playing for six state championships when the spring season concludes with CIAC finals on Saturday. Games are available to watch with a subscription via the NFHS Network. Class LL Baseball No. 5 Staples vs. No. 3 Southington At Palmer Field, Middletown, Noon Class M Baseball No. 11 St. Joseph vs. … Read more

Boys Lacrosse: Sullivan’s goals, Previte’s clear help Wilton rally past Fairfield Prep, reach Class L final

FAIRFIELD — One more road game was nothing for Wilton’s boys lacrosse team. One more deficit was nothing for a team that dug itself a deep hole in the first half of its season. The 19th seed in Class L will play for a championship on Saturday. Wilton came back Wednesday night to beat Fairfield … Read more

Boys Lacrosse: Darien tops Staples to set up rematch with Wilton in Class L final

NORWALK – Two weeks ago, the Darien Blue Wave was unexpectedly knocked out of the FCIAC boys lacrosse tournament by a Wilton Warriors team which has gotten hot at the right time of the year. Now, the Wave will have a chance to get even. Darien overcame an early challenge from the Staples Wreckers and … Read more

Boys Lacrosse: St. Joseph too much for Sheehan, returns to defend its Class S title

CHESHIRE — For the eighth time in this decade, St. Joseph will play for the Class S boys lacrosse championship. The eighth-seeded and defending champion Cadets (13-5) blew out fourth-seeded Sheehan, 21-4, Wednesday night at the Maclary Complex and will go for their fifth Class S crown Saturday when they meet Bacon Academy at McMahon … Read more

2019 All-FCIAC Boys Lacrosse Awards

First Team Hudson Pokorny, Darien Jack Feda, Greenwich Henri Pfeifle, Darien Michael Minicus, Darien Liam Griffiths, New Canaan Jackson Peters, Darien Quintin O’Connell, New Canaan Wes Carpenter, Ridgefield Ray Dearth, Ridgefield Chris Canet, New Canaan Tommy Hellman, Darien Ryan Schriber, Wilton Tyler Strub, Darien George Dumbauld, New Canaan Blake Runkle, Staples Tyler Previte, Wilton Bruce … Read more