Fairfield advances to FCIAC final, Charlie Swanson scores 100th point in win over New Canaan

BRIDGEPORT — Fairfield’s boys hockey team has been waiting to honor Charlie Swanson when he scored his 100th point. Then he went and did it under the radar Wednesday night in a big game at the Wonderland of Ice. An assist in the third period wasn’t announced as his originally, leaving the coaching staff figuring … Read more

FCIAC has three champions, 17 medalists in State Open wrestling

The FCIAC had 17 wrestlers medal, highlighted by three weight class champions at the CIAC State Open Saturday in New Haven. The champions were seniors Brendan Gilchrist of Norwalk at 195 pounds and Nuh Ajdinoski of Danbury at 285, and sophomore Dominick Spadaro of Warde at 126. In the finals, Gilchrist won a 6-4 decision … Read more

FCIAC wins three championships, 10 wrestlers medal in CIAC girls tournament

The FCIAC had three individual champions and 10 medalists at the third CIAC Girls Wrestling Tournament Saturday in New Haven. The champions were senior Samantha Yap of Stamford at 107 pounds, sophomore Calli Gilchrist of Brien McMahon at 114, and freshman Marangelie Teixeira of Trumbull at 165. For Yap, it was her third championship in … Read more

Darien wins seventh FCIAC girls hockey championship with win over New Canaan

DARIEN — It has been a long wait for the seniors on the Darien girls hockey team, but the Blue Wave are back on top of the FCIAC. No. 1 seeded Darien defeated No. 2 New Canaan 3-2 in the FCIAC Championship at Darien Ice House, winning their first title since 2020. Click here for … Read more

Ludlowe wins first FCIAC girls basketball championship, defeating St. Joseph

TRUMBULL — The emotion was all over the faces of the Ludlowe players and coaches as the final seconds ticked off in the FCIAC girls basketball championship game Thursday. Not only was Ludlowe winning its first FCIAC title in school history, 52-42 over St. Joseph, it was completing an unbeaten run to the title and … Read more

Warde gymnasts earn FCIAC three-peat; Emma Johnson wins all-around championship

FAIRFIELD – Fairfield Warde’s superb senior Emma Johnson won the all-around championship for the third consecutive year to lead the defending champion Mustangs to their second straight team title at the 2022-23 FCIAC Gymnastics Championships on Feb. 11 at Gymnastics and Cheerleading Academy. Johnson won three of the four events and had an all-around score … Read more

Unbeaten Ludlowe leads eight teams into FCIAC girls basketball playoffs

The Ludlowe Falcons wrapped up an undefeated regular season on Wednesday and head into the FCIAC tournament as the league’s No. 1 seed. The playoffs begin with four quarterfinal games on Saturday at Staples in Westport, before the tournament shifts to Trumbull for the semifinals and final. Tickets for the FCIAC quarterfinals may be purchased … Read more

Ridgefield boys basketball moves up to No. 5 in state, as FCIAC playoff race rolls to wild finish

After a brief absence from the Top 10 in the weekly boys basketball state poll, four-time defending FCIAC champion Ridgefield has utilized a lengthy winning streak to ascend to No. 5 and the Tigers are now in strong position to earn the top seed in the conference tournament. The GameTimeCT Top 10 Boys Basketball Poll … Read more